Home Immigration What You Need To Know About Canada Visa and Types

What You Need To Know About Canada Visa and Types

If you are unfamiliar with the rigors of the immigration process, getting a visa can be a long and onerous process. However, armed with the right information, the long process could be simplified. The immigration officers have a zero-tolerance for errors regardless if the mistake was intentional or not. It is pertinent to keep distractions away and pay close attention to all stages of the application.

It is advised to seek the help of immigration consultants, immigration experts to help expedite the application process. They are professionals who understand the whole immigration process and can help you avoid some major pitfalls and unnecessary delays.

Regardless of the immigration objective, before a foreign is allowed entry into Canada, he/she must first obtain a temporary permit from the local consulate in their home country, except the foreigner is a national of visa-exempt countries and territory.

Obtaining an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) when arriving in Canada is mandated to nationals visa-exempt countries with the exception of United States citizens/permanent residents.

Visa Exempt Countries

Citizens or permanent residents of visa-exempt countries and territories can enter Canada without obtaining a visa can stay for up to six months.

The following countries are visa-exempt countries.

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • British citizen
  • British National (Overseas)
  • British overseas citizen (re-admissible to the United Kingdom)
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania (electronic passport holders only)
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • The United States, lawful permanent resident of
  • Vatican City State.

The Types Of Canada Visa

Knowing the visa that suits your immigration should be the first consideration every applicant must know.  Canada’s immigration system is one of the most flexible in the world.

The Canada visa is divided into Categories, Temporary and Permanent Visas.

Temporary Visa

Temporary visa as the name implies legalizes the stay of foreigners in Canada for a brief period of time, usually up to six months. The temporary visa can be subdivided into a single entry or multiple entry visas.

Temporary visas are:

  • Temporary residence visa
  • student visa
  • visitor visa
  • super visa
  • working holiday visa
  • official and diplomatic visas
  • business visas
  • intending organ donors visa

Permanent Visa

Holders of this type of visa are guaranteed a permanent stay in Canada and can eventually become a Canadian citizen. However, being a permanent resident in Canada does not guarantee automatic citizenship, to become eligible you must satisfy all the eligibility requirements,

The following are Permanent Visa categories:

  • Start-up visa program
  • Express Entry
  • self-employed person visa
  • Live-in caregivers program (LCP)
  • Quebec selected skilled worker program (QSWP)

Requirements For Canada Visa

Nationals of the non-exempt countries are required to provide the following documents during the application process.

  • Two recent photographs
  • A valid passport
  • proof of financial sufficiency
  • Proof that upon expiration of your visa you will return to your home country
  • Application fee payment proof
  • copy of the itinerary, flight booking, and accommodation
  • Medical report
  • completed visa form


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here