Home Visa What You Need To Know About The Australian Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass...

What You Need To Know About The Australian Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)

The Australian general skilled migration route accounts for the most permanent visas issued to foreign professionals and skilled workers annually. With a yearly intake of 190,000 skilled workers, the general skilled migration pathway is the go-to visa category for skilled foreigners.

The Australian skilled independent visa category is designed for foreign skilled workers with economic importance to move to Australia as a permanent resident without necessarily needing sponsorship from an Australian employer, family member or an Australian state or territory.

Eligible foreign skilled workers of the Subclass 189 Visa are required to submit an expression of interest through SkillSelect and is expected to score a minimum of 60 points to be eligible for this visa category.

Eligibility For The Subclass 189 Visa

Applicants under this visa stream must satisfy the following eligibility requirements. The applicants must:

  • Have received an invitation to apply from the Australian Department of Home Affairs (DHA).
  • Satisfy the minimum English language requirement.
  • Nominate a relevant occupation listed on the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL).
  • Be suitable for the nominated occupation as affirmed by the relevant assessing authority confirming your skill as suitable.
  • Pass the minimum 65 points as required on the Points Test.
  • Excellently pass the health and character requirements.
  • Not be older than 45 years when you receive an invitation to apply.
  • The Four Stages Of The Subclass 189 Visa Application

The Subclass 189 visa stream is a direct application with no state involvement and the selection process is regulated by the federal government. It is recommended to complete the current stage before moving to the next stage.

Occupation Assessment

The occupational assessment is the foremost step in the Subclass 189 visa application, as the relevant assessing authority in Australia must validate your occupation. It is recommended to provide documentary evidence and each occupation has a different assessing authority in Australia.

The following are list authorized assessing bodies in Australia:

  • AACA – Architects Accreditation Council of Australia, Inc
  • AASW – Australian Association of Social Workers
  • ACS – Australian Computer Society
  • COPRA – Australian Council of Physiotherapy Regulating Authorities, Inc.
  • ADC – Australian Dental Council
  • AIM – Australian Institute of Management
  • AIMS – Australian Institute of Medical Scientists
  • AIQS – Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors
  • AIR – Australian Institute of Radiography
  • AIWCW – Australian Institute of Welfare and Community Workers
  • AMSA – Australian Maritime Safety Authority
  • ANCI – Australian Nursing Council Incorporated
  • APC – Australasian Podiatry Council
  • APEC – Australian Pharmacy Examining Council Inc
  • APS – Australian Psychological Society
  • ASCPA – Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants
  • CASA – Civil Aviation Safety Authority
  • DAA – Dieticians Association of Australia
  • ICAA – Institute of Chartered Accountants of Australia
  • IEAust – Institution of Engineers, Australia
  • ISA – Institution of Surveyors, Australia
  • NAATI – National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters
  • NOOSR – National Office of Overseas Skills Recognition
  • OCANZ – Optometry Council of Australia and New Zealand
  • SLAA – State Legal Admission Authority
  • SPAA – Speech Pathology Association of Australia
  • TRA – Trades Recognition Australia
  • VETASSESS – Vocational Education and Training Assessment Services
  • APC – Australasian Podiatry Council


Expression Of Interest

After completing the occupational assessment, you must an Expression of Interest to the Australian Department of Home Affairs clearly stating your intention to apply for skilled migration under the Subclass 189 visa.

Upon submission of your Expression of Interest, the Department of Home Affairs will accord points based on the information provided in your EOI, and candidates with the highest points will be issued an invitation.

Invitation To Apply

Receive an Invitation to Apply from the Department of Home Affairs affirms that your visa application is 90% near completion.

At this stage of the application process, you will be required to provide the following:

  • Pay the visa fees
  • Submit all documentary evidence
  • Submit security and medical reports and
  • Any other relevant documents as required by the DHA
    Obtain Your Visa

Upon completing the stages above, you be issued a visa and you are on your way of becoming a permanent resident in Canada.

Note: If during your application you included your family, they will be issued the same letter and visa type


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here